simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Quinoa Cookies

on March 21, 2013

June 1st, 2012 097

Find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/SimplyDish

As requested, we’re posting this yummy, healthy one again…

My four year old just devoured one of these rather quickly!  That tells me they’re not too bad!

🙂

I actually find this quite exciting… no eggs, no flour, no sugar, no added oil or butter.  Vegan and gluten free!  Woo hoo!

Of course they are a little ‘earthier’ than a regular, buttery, not so fantastic for you cookie – but you feel like you’re eating a cookie and they’re SO good for you!

Did I say woo hoo!?

In a food processor …

  • 2.5c of cooked quinoa
  • 1/2c (heaping) of smooth organic peanut butter (or the nut/seed butter of your choice)
  • 1/2c of raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4c of pumpkin seed protein powder
  • 1/8c of maple syrup

June 1st, 2012 082

Process all of this together until blended and then transfer to a bowl … stir in a little less than one cup of dark chocolate or carob chips (my son likes to eat a few out of the measuring cup before they are added to the mixture, hence the ‘little less’).

Shape into one inch balls and press down with a fork … just like peanut butter cookies.

Bake in a moderate oven (325-350) for about thirty minutes and there you have it!

You should get about eighteen yummy treats with this recipe.

Healthy cookies you and your kids will love!

Have a peaceful day y’all…

Find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/SimplyDish

June 1st, 2012 091

16 responses to “Quinoa Cookies

  1. Chanters says:

    Totally making these too. Look delicious!!

  2. Christine says:

    Thank you for these! They are super tasty…my 6 & 8 yr. old loved them! Are they supposed to be pretty crumbly when forming? Also, made almost 30 not 18 as your recipe stated.

    • Simply Dish says:

      Aw, thanks!
      I love to hear that!
      Yes, they are a bit crumbly… not a lot of ‘stuff’ in there to glue it all together. 🙂
      I think maybe I should make them a bit smaller next time. 😉
      Thanks so much for the comment – much appreciated!

  3. Kristen Bruce says:

    had an overabundance of quinoa in the fridge, and these treats are baking in the oven now. we are all excited for the results and the “dough” was tasty!

  4. Anna says:

    Do you think it would be ok to freeze these treats instead of baking them, like a frozen no-bake cookie??

  5. denimdujour says:

    Oh I have to try these! They look so good! Definitely following your blog!
    Check out my blog: denimdujour.com
    Sarah

  6. Jessica says:

    If I don’t have the protein powder will it be ok to just leave out? Also thought about adding a banana to hold it together? Thoughts?

    Jessica

    • Simply Dish says:

      Hi Jessica,
      I have never tried them without the powder, but I’m sure they would work just fine…you could always add in a quarter cup of almond meal or spelt four. The peanut butter and the cooked quinoa hold it all together pretty well, so the banana isn’t necessary, but I don’t think it would hurt to add it. 🙂
      Best,
      Erin

      • Jessica says:

        Thank you so much! I omitted it all together, and they came out great! I made them for my husband’s birthday – he’s been begging for quinoa cookies! I had spelt flour on hand & didnt even think to use it. (In fact, I never know when or how to use it!) Thank you for all the suggestions!
        Jes

  7. How about using flaxseed meal instead of the pumpkin seed protein powder?

    • Simply Dish says:

      Hi Margaret,
      I prefer not to heat flax, but I’m sure that it would work. Anything powdery…almond meal, another protein powder that is neutral. Even a gf or spelt flour would work. I hope this helps.
      Thanks for droppin’ in!
      Best,
      Erin

  8. daisy says:

    any idea on calorie, carb, fat count

Leave a Reply

