simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Breakfast Lentils

on February 9, 2013

February 9th, 2013 048 - Copy

Find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/SimplyDish

Something a little different than a bowl of oatmeal…just to switch things up.

πŸ™‚

I’m SO happy to share this one with you!

YUM!

Breakfast lentils… fabulous!

What you’ll need for approximately four servings…

  • 1c of red lentils
  • 3c of red rooibos tea (yep, tea! we had leftovers and I thought I’d be creative)
  • 2 apples, remove the core and diced
  • 1tbsp of cinnamon (less if you prefer)
  • a pinch of clove
  • a pinch of turmeric (optional, but highly recommended)
  • coconut nectar or maple syrup
  • So Delicious coconut milk (or the non-dairy milk of your choice)

Bring the lentils and the tea to a low boil and then reduce heat to low to medium.

After ten minutes or so, add in your diced apple and spices.

Give it all a good stir.

It smells SO good!

Cook until the lentils are mushy.

Serve about half a cup of the lentil goodness and drizzle a bit of coconut nectar over top and a generous amount of coconut milk.

We love cinnamon so we added a pinch more.Β  πŸ™‚

Happy, healthy eating y’all!

Find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/SimplyDish

8 responses to “Breakfast Lentils

  1. What an awesome breakfast! I can never think of how to incorporate lentils. I must try that soon!

  2. What an awesome breakfast! I can never think of how to incorporate lentils. I must try that soon! πŸ™‚

  3. afracooking says:

    This is such an original idea. I love my oats for beakfast and even quinoa but I have never thought of lentils!

  4. Simply Dish says:

    Thank you!
    It was SO good and a nice subtle change to oatmeal and quinoa. πŸ™‚
    Happy Valentine’s Day!
    πŸ™‚

  5. Gwen Drenth says:

    Breakfast is one of my favourite meals and since going gluten free I find myself always looking for something new to add variety to our mornings. I never would have thought of lentils but they were pretty good. Mine turned out quite a bit runnier than your picture shows. Did you leave your pot uncovered while they cooked? I’m eating them with plain goat’s yogourt instead of milk so they aren’t even runnier and they are quite good like that.

    • Simply Dish says:

      Hi Gwen…it’s very likely that I did in fact leave the lid off. I will make another batch and make note of it on the page. THanks so much for connecting! πŸ™‚

  6. Diane Varga says:

    I found this recipe on SparkPeople. I made it this morning and it is absolutely awesome. It tastes like apple pie without the crust. I cooked it a bit longer to reduce the water out but no big deal. I am going to make this again and again. I didn’t use the syrup – didn’t need it! Thank you so much for this lovely recipe. I am going to look at all your recipes now. πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

