simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Brown Sugar Almond Toffee Crunch…

on June 7, 2012

On Sunday we celebrate my Grandmother – and her birthday … she loves almond roca so we thought we’d do a little birthday baking.  I love dropping in on people on their special day with a little something made with love.  🙂

If you like the taste of molasses, you’ll love this one.  You most definitely can use plain ole white sugar for this recipe … either is fine.

Surprisingly, I don’t have a candy thermometer … I know, go figure … but you don’t need one for this recipe!

This is SO simple and it’s a good one to tuck away for holiday baking and host gifts!

In a large pot over medium heat…

Melt one cup of butter … add in one cup of brown sugar, two tablespoons of (Rogers) golden syrup (I prefer not to use corn syrup), two tablespoons of water and one tablespoons of vanilla.

Set your timer for fifteen minutes and stir occasionally.

Remove the toffee mixture from the heat and stir in a half of cup of chopped almonds and pour on parchment lined cookie sheet.

Now…

Over simmering water, place 150g of dark – 85% – chocolate in a stainless steel bowl and let melt away, stirring occasionally.

Such beauty…

Pour the melted ooey gooey goodness all over your toffee mixture and sprinkle the top with finely, finely chopped almonds.

Cool for a few hours and break away!

Share with your friends – so you don’t eat it all!  🙂

Enjoy!  xo

8 responses to “Brown Sugar Almond Toffee Crunch…

  1. Wow, basically all your dishes make my mouth water. 🙂 Would love to try this! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sophie33 says:

    Lucky grandmother & lucky us too! 🙂 Your bars look so beautiful & amazing too! 🙂

  3. Julian says:

    These look scrummy. How are the teeth! I fear my dentist would enjoy them more than me. I love your meticulous choice of ingredients though. True devotion to perfection. :0)

  4. lusciousvegetarian says:

    I just favourited this post, as I am going to make it soon! And I love the taste of molasses, I even eat it raw 🙂

Leave a Reply

