simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Salt & Vinegar Baked Yam Chips!

on May 29, 2012

Oh so exciting!

I love vinegar and I definitely prefer a hint of salt over sugar so these, in my opinion, are perfect.  🙂

I wish now that I had used more than one yam … I now know for next time!

I sliced one yam very thinly and soaked the slices overnight in a bowl of white vinegar.

This morning, I placed the slices on a parchment lined cookie sheet and sprinkled a little bit of sea salt over them  …

I put the yams into a preheated 400 degree oven and then immediately turned the heat down to 350.

You’ll want to turn/flip the slices a few times – no one wants a chip with one crunchy side and one soggy side!  🙂

I had sliced these quite thin so they only needed about 20 – 25 minutes in total in the oven … if your slices are a bit thicker they may require a bit more time.

A great, healthy snack … enjoy!

8 responses to “Salt & Vinegar Baked Yam Chips!

  1. I’m gonna have to try these b/c I love salt and vinegar chips and these are probably healthier.

  2. These look amazing! I love savory recipes for sweet potatoes. I’ll have to try this one! Thanks for posting.

  3. Brenda Marie Hamilton says:

    This makes me smile. My kids don’t know what’s comin’! When I tell them they are allowed chips on a school night! Making these for tomorrow, soak overnight……thanks so much! You and your recipes are my inspiration for healthy eating (that actually tastes great and kids love!) xxB

    • Simply Dish says:

      Thank you Brenda! 🙂
      These are kind of like a cross between a chip and a roasted veggie – they are SO good and SO good for you!
      I hope you all like them!

  4. Starr says:

    I love yam fries, so I’ll have to give these a try. All the flavour, minus the fat! 😀

Leave a Reply

