simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Oh Healthy Snack, We Love You!

on May 29, 2012

May 29th, 2012 020

OK, this is simply one of the best healthy treats I’ve ever tasted – it is a must try, must serve, must share!

I was going to save this for tomorrow’s post, but why put off to tomorrow what you can do today?  🙂

This idea sprouted from a conversation I had with a lady that works in the produce department of the health food store we shop at… thank goodness our paths crossed!

I cut a swiss chard leaf in half (didn’t want the stem anyway) and smeared one tablespoon of peanut butter (or the nut or seed butter of your choice) down the middle … then I sprinkled one tablespoon of sunflower seeds on top of the butter … then I squished quartered dates down the middle and topped it all off with a pinch of pink himalayan salt.

May 29th, 2012 016

Roll it all up (like a sushi roll) and put a little bit of the nut or seed butter on the edge to glue it shut.

Slice it into pieces… or maybe just eat the whole darn thing!  🙂

There are really no words to describe how fantastic this concoction is – you just have to try it.

Enjoy, friends!

Find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/SimplyDish

May 29th, 2012 032

10 responses to “Oh Healthy Snack, We Love You!

  1. suebosdet says:

    wow again!! That looks amazing and I will def. try it soon 🙂

  2. Seattle Foodshed says:

    Genius!

  3. I love chard wraps! This one does sound amazing….will definitely try this one. 🙂 Thanks!

  4. townsendlee says:

    A chard wrap …. hmmmm …. adding this to my new “Vegan Foods to Try” list 🙂 I was tickled to see this because I was just wondering how I can veganize my veggie wraps. 🙂

    Thanx for posting Simply Dish! 😉

    Vicki

  5. Great idea! Now I have learnt a new way to eat chard. Thanks for liking my post on Tahini avocado and chickpea too!

Leave a Reply

