simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Broccoli…Carrot…Almond… Pesto!

on May 23, 2012

I had some broccoli in the fridge that was looking a little wilted … so I stared at it for a while and this is what I came up with.  🙂

In a food processor…

  • 2c of chopped broccoli tops
  • 1c of chopped carrots
  • 1/2c of raw almonds
  • 1/2c of fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2c of good olive oil
  • 4 clove of garlic
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • a pinch of salt

Process all together until smooth and there you have it!

This makes about two cups of ‘pesto’, which could technically last quite a while.

Mix it with a little quinoa and some spinach!  GREAT salad!

Or maybe on Friday …. mix it with a little caramelized mushroom and onion quinoa tart?  Stay tuned for that one!  😉

Hope y’all had a peaceful day!

6 responses to “Broccoli…Carrot…Almond… Pesto!

  1. cooktocure says:

    Definitely putting this on my ‘try this’ list!

  2. Ah YUM! What a great idea!

  3. Sophie33 says:

    I think that I will soak my almonds overnight in water & then make it like that! I will try this this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

