simplydish

create. inspire. share.

Almost Guilt-Free Peanut Butter Yogurt Coconut Cups! YUM!

on May 15, 2012

So, I had about half a cup of dark chocolate chips sitting around begging me to give them a purpose.  🙂

After gazing at them for a few minutes this is what I came up with…

I melted the chips in a stainless steel bowl over a pot of simmering water.  As soon as they started to melt I added in a teaspoon (maybe less) of coconut oil.  Mmmmm!

I placed mini cupcake liners into a mini cupcake pan and with a pastry brush I painted the inside of the liners with the melted chocolate.  I made these ones with a very thin, imperfect layer and placed them in the freezer right away.  We went about our day and came home to them five hours later… they were perfect!

Again, I gazed at them trying to decide what to fill them with… too many choices.

In a small saucepan on low heat…

  • 1/4c of smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4c of 0% plain yogurt (we use olympic organic)
  • 1/4c of unsweetened coconut

This hardly had a moment to heat up (I didn’t want to add something hot to the chocolate cups!) but it had just enough time to soften the peanut butter and the combination of the yogurt and the peanut butter… oh! and the coconut!  woohoo!

No added sugar(!) but the dark chocolate makes it such a decadent treat – they will not last long!

All I’m going to say is don’t make too many if you do not have any will power!  🙂

Keep them refridgerated and enjoy!!

4 responses to “Almost Guilt-Free Peanut Butter Yogurt Coconut Cups! YUM!

  1. Vicki says:

    A GREAT idea – and for you, these seem limitless!

  2. Brilliant! Peanut butter + yogurt + chocolate is such an amazing combination, but one look at the nutrition facts makes me feel…well, guilty. But mixed with nonfat yogurt! Yay, guilt-free! You can tell by my excitement that I definitely will make these later. 😉

Leave a Reply

